It’s official, I’m going to Copenhagen!

I SEE EUROPE’S CONTRASTS -THE OLD AND THE NEW, THE GOTHIC AND THE MODERN- AS A METAPHOR FOR THE CHANGES I WILL SEE IN MYSELF OVER MY SEMESTER ABROAD. THE BEAUTY OF STUDYING ABROAD ARE THE OPPORTUNITIES TO STUDY DIFFERENT MATERIAL, IN A DIFFERENT PLACE, WITH DIFFERENT PEOPLE THAN WHAT IS COMFORTABLE.


I’ve never been abroad (Canada doesn’t really count does it?); I’ve never been able to. Thanks to the amazing Off Campus Study program at CMC, this opportunity is finally available to me.  It’s been a long time coming: I partially picked CMC for the strength of the travel abroad program. It’s time to see the sites I’ve studied in classes for years with my own eyes and I couldn’t be more excited.

When I learn, I take in the smallest details for the sake of greater understanding.  I enjoy learning to better understand my place in the world, to make more rational decisions, and to form more educated opinions. Learning about Europe and its vast history while being immersed in its culture brings value to the experience in a way a book  never could. Having the opportunity to live in Europe for four months will help me broaden my two-dimensional worldly understanding to a more comprehensive three-dimensional appreciation. Studying philosophy with DIS in Denmark will provide me with historical and cultural context not available to me in America.

Because I have never traveled outside of North America, I will take with me to Europe an interesting perspective: no expectations. I realize studying in another country will be a challenge and will be difficult, but that is precisely the reason I want to go! Copenhagen is spearheading all creative and modernizing fronts and, according to Oprah, it’s home to the happiest people in the world. Who wouldn’t jump at the opportunity to experience such a vibrant place for themselves?

Check out this video for more information about my program in Denmark.

– TG

Leave a Reply

