First Impressions

I arrived in Copenhagen a week ago today and I am quickly accustoming to life as a Dane. My host family is wonderfully welcoming and I can already see my homestay becoming another home to me.

My sisters, Louise and Helena (and Chile)! The first of many home-cooked, family meals in Copenhagen – IMG_2685

And the baby of the house, Balou (and Robin) – IMG_2705I couldn’t have asked for more out of my homestay. The Christensens are a Danish family who live in Smørum, Denmark, about 40 minutes outside of Copenhagen by train, in a home that’s been in the family for generations. They all speak flawless English and travel every chance they get. (We missed each other in Philadelphia in July by only a few days!) Music is always playing, garlic is a food group, and 2pm means coffee and strawberry cake – definitely something I can get used to 🙂

CMC @ DIS – IMG_2692

Orientation consisted of only a few academic meetings and tours so my free time the first week was spent exploring the city.

IMG_2693

Views from Copenhagen’s Church of Our Saviour –IMG_2724IMG_2726

Tivoli, in the middle of downtown Copenhagen – IMG_2739

Dinner at Paper Island – IMG_2756

Jorcks Passage – IMG_2770

And my first of many visits to Next Door Cafe – IMG_2753  It really is the cafe of the locals. In my two hours there, I met a one-eyed Chihuahua named Charlie, a little girl fresh out of her first day of first grade who taught me to count to ten, and talked politics with the owner, a Dane who grew up in Sarasota, Florida. Needless to say I didn’t get much homework done but the company, and the Americano, were wonderful.

Leave a Reply

